Skip to content

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here. Hide this message

About us

Workforce Disability and Race Equality Standards

Workforce equality action plan

The action plan covers the NHS Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES) and NHS Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES).  Please note the Trust WDES action plan also incorporates the actions required to support our Disability Confident status as it is clear there is a significant overlap.

Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES)

The Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES) is a set of ten specific measures (metrics) that will enable NHS organisations to compare the experiences of disabled and non-disabled staff.

This information will then be used by the relevant NHS organisation to develop a local action plan, and enable them to demonstrate progress against the indicators of disability equality.  With effect from 1 April 2019, it was mandated through the NHS Standard Contract and is restricted to NHS Trusts and Foundation Trusts for the first two years of implementation.

Summary reports

Action plans

Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES)

The Workforce Race Equality Standard is a set of metrics that requires all NHS organisations with contracts over £200,000 to demonstrate progress against a number of indicators of race equality.  NHS England has mandated the Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES) into the 2015/16 NHS Standard Contact.

Summary reports

Action plans

Logo on blue with swoosh


Chinese Poland

View all languages >